The end of my Olveston experience

DSC03215Tomorrow marks the end of PoARTry @ Olveston and my Olveston residency. It’s been a wonderful experience for me. This was the first time I’ve written a collection of poems on one subject and also the first time I’ve ever placed time constraints on my writing. Managing both these ‘firsts’ has boosted my confidence!

Olveston events

Some of the events that took place at Olveston during my residency

I’m going to miss the wonderful walk up to the house, the cheery greeting from whoever is on reception, the hellos as I meet staff along the corridors and the seclusion of my writing room – the lighthouse. I’ll miss the freedom of wandering in and out of rooms, and the wonderful access I’ve had to the house records.

Olveston treasures

These are a few of my favourite things

Thanks to Jeremy Smith, Olveston’s manager, for granting me the freedom of the house, providing my writing room, and allowing me the use of the Drying Room Gallery for the exhibition. Thanks to all the staff for being so welcoming, helpful, friendly, and accommodating. Without your support the residency wouldn’t have been so successful.

The writer'r room

The lighthouse writing table

This entry was posted in Art, Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

